Daily Prompt: My Blue Planet

I am A, an astronaut selected for the first mission to Mars. I have taken up this voluntarily, knowing fully well I will never come back to Earth. That never bothered me. But now I cannot help but think that there are some things I will miss about my “blue planet”.

I am an extremely successful individual in terms of my career. Among my many accomplishments, I am currently the youngest person to go on a mission to the moon. I am also the youngest person to climb Mount Everest. So for someone who turned 40 this May, I have achieved what many cant dream of in a lifetime. On the contrary I have been a failure in my personal life. No wife or kids to call my own. My best friends have long moved on without me. All I am to them is a piece of news, that appears for some reason time and again.

So when I look back and think what I will miss about Earth, I know its my race, the human race. The irony of it is that I have always despised society and the limitations it puts on us. I have always hated the way it judges us for being above or below their notion of a standard. Yet it is the social life, or rather the lack of it in my own life, is what I will miss the most. I will miss having a reason to wake up in the morning with my wife. I will miss not having kids and the challenges of being a parent. I will miss friendship and the bond that comes with knowing people since childhood. And I will miss the imperfections and frailties of the human race, because now I realise that is what truly makes us human.

I cannot fall back on my promise now. Not after coming this far. It would be against my principles. Two lines from Robert Frost’s Stopping by the woods on a snowy evening”  keep playing in my mind and I cannot help but draw an analogy to my situation:

The woods were lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before  I sleep,

And miles to go before  I sleep.”

Some similar articles:

Home

Speechless

Longing For Gravity

This post was in response to:

Daily Prompt | Longing For Gravity

Disclaimer: “A” is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to anybody, dead or living, is purely co-incidental(and frankly awesome. :P).

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: My Blue Planet

  1. Such a truthful, emotional post.
    It has a deep impact on my own reflections and thoughts.

    Simply beautiful and above all, the true human voice that comes from the post amazes me!

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

