Three Of My Favourite Songs

Everybody loves to hear good music. We may all differ on the type of music we may like, but none of us dislike music. And in keeping with timeless a timeless tradition that is as old as music itself, we all have our favourite songs. So here is a list of my top three favourite songs( not in any order).

Pink Floyd: Comfortably Numb:

Pink Floyd is one of the greatest bands of all time. And in some way or the other, Psychedelic Rock has been one of my favourite forms of music. I first heard Comfortably Numb, sophomore year of college. A real bad time in my life when nothing was going right for me, and this song just hit me. I used to listen to this countless number of times a day, trying to shut myself from all the rubbish around me. “Hello, Is there anybody in there?” became “Hello, Is there anybody out there?”, as I desperately longed for someone to understand me. Like Pink in the song was completely burnt, I too felt that all my reserves were exhausted. A time when I wanted to shout aloud, but couldn’t, this song helped me go through all the inner pain I felt then. And now, when things are so much stable, I thank Pink Floyd, for gifting this song to people who go through a phase similar to mine. πŸ™‚

Creed: With Arms Wide Open:

Grunge, Post Grunge and Alternative Rock are my favourite genres. I first saw this song on VH1. More than the song, it was the beautiful abstract video, and the imagery portrayed in it that influenced. A couple of years later I started listening to Mark Tremonti more, as I learnt how to play the guitar. This song and the solo he plays in it still gives me goose bumps. Also Scott Stapp, the lead singer of Creed, dedicated this song to his child. I have this thought of playing it for my new-born child someday, whenever in the future that may be πŸ™‚

Staind: Its Been A While

This makes my list because it’s the first song I learnt to play on my guitar and sing along perfectly. Aaron Lewis is perhaps my favourite singer, and I love the way he performs on stage. I have learnt to model my acoustic performances based on the way he does his live acoustics( yes I am a bit of a musician πŸ™‚ ). Its been a while was his first live acoustic I watched, all be it on You Tube. So this song makes it because its been a real inspiration to my music. πŸ™‚

I have so many other favourites. Actually, my favourites keep on changing, depending on my mood. But these three will always have a reason to stay in my top three.

Links to the lyrics of the songs mentioned:

Pink Floyd: Comfortably Numb.

Creed: With Arms Wide Open.

Staind: Its been a while.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Three Of My Favourite Songs

  1. Nice stories behind the songs. More so than I did. Excellent selection of songs as well. Creed of course are amazing and I think they are doing new stuff now. Staind are also great. This was too easy for you. πŸ™‚

    • :). It was difficult coming out with my top three.
      I actually prefer Alterbridge as a band more than Creed. But Tremoti’s Creed solos were soul touching. πŸ™‚

      The sad part here is that from what I read Staind broke up, which is a bit of a shame.

  2. Hi, Abimazumdar!

    Very thought-provoking post. Like you (and likely countless others), choosing three top choices was a chore. Unlike you (at least from what I gathered in context), I took the time to think about them. Shame on me! *Slaps hand* πŸ™‚

    My brother likes to rock it out and will likely be able to better relate to your choices, but as for me, I am appreciative of the link-sharing done here. I wish I had thought of it, too – but don’t be surprised if an edited version of my blog shows up with links! πŸ˜‰

    If you would like to read my entry, here’s the link: http://putittogether4u.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/these-three-songs-sweet-and-simple-day-three-blogging-university/

    Have a great day! Best wishes in Blogging U!

    ~ Angela

    • Thank You for your response to my post Angela. And its great that you took time to compile your top three. Shows how much thought you have put into it. πŸ™‚

    • Hi. Thank You for the comment and welcome to wordpress. I myself started this blog 4 days back. I visited your page and the layout seems really nice to me. What I did personally was check out as many themes I could. I had an idea of having a picture with every post and I wanted my page to look like a magazine. Also i like black and monochrome. So thats how I chose this layout for now. If you havent, do check out more themes. As for the layout and pages its great for someone who has started. As time goes on one can always revamp the look.
      I hope this was helpful. Feel free to ask if you have anymore queries. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

