A Letter From The Sky

A letter from a son to his father.

One day, I was taking a stroll in the evening, when a piece of paper caught my attention. I opened it and saw that it was a letter. Normally my manners taught me not to read letters addressed to other people, but somehow I couldn’t resist taking a peek. What I read moved me. Here is the excerpt:

” Hi Dad. I know it’s been a while since I have talked to anyone of you. 7 years is a long time frankly. So before I say anything else, let me get straight to the point. I am really sorry for walking out on you both that fateful day. I was really angry, hurt and quite frankly selfish that day. Maybe it’s because I thought it will make you proud that I joined the army, and when you said no on my face, I did not know how to react. Not a day goes by when I don’t regret my decision. Don’t get me wrong. I am proud to serve my motherland, and I truly believe joining the army was my destiny. What I am not proud of is leaving you both behind and not getting in touch with both of you since.

I am sure you will be happy to know that my fellow officers look up to me. I have received honours for my bravery, integrity, dedication and the respect I have shown to my fellow officers. Every time I have to give an acceptance speech, I always say one thing. All the good values in me have come from my parents. Without your hard-work and sacrifice, I would never be what I am. And it pains me that I haven’t seen you both for so long.

In two days time I will be leading my troops into battle. I ask for your blessing, that I may come out victorious and more importantly peace follows soon. I look forward to coming back home and spending time with you both once this is over.

Take Care.”

Footnote:ย I was so moved by the letter that I decided to track down the family. When I found them, they were grieving the death of their son. He had died in the field of battle. I handed the letter over to the father, not knowing what to say. The father burst into tears when he read the letter. All he could say was “I am proud to call you my son.”

6 thoughts on “A Letter From The Sky

Leave a Reply

