A unique character.

I have seen and met a lot of people in my life. But the one I am about to describe here definitely has to be a once in a lifetime character. A few months back I got introduced to my best friend’s cousin brother. He is only a couple of years older to me. So it wasn’t difficult mixing with him and we hit it off after the first binge drinking session. 😛 However over the next couple of months I got to know how unique this person was. First of all, I have never seen anyone more laid back than him. No matter how lazy a person might be, nobody puts off things as late as him. And the best part is, he always gets the work done on time.

Let me give you an example. We were supposed to catch a train to go to a place. I arrived at the station half an hour before the departure time, which is normal in our part of the world. He comes just as the train was about to leave the platform. This was the first time I saw someone running on the platform trying to get up on a moving train. When he finally made it, I angrily asked him, what took him so long. He, in his laid back manner replied that this was quite normal. I was stunned and somehow couldn’t help but laugh at the situation.

There is something I found really impressive about him. He has the ability to mix and be friendly with anyone, and I mean anyone. I have never seen him get angry or upset with anyone. Yet he never compromises on his values and ideals. And this is what I admire the most about him. In life you have to be humble enough to admire and probably learn from someone’s quality. One on one interactions have always been my “Achilles heel”. And I have made it a point now to improve this aspect of my character by observing him.

And that is why I am thankful to call this unique person a friend. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A unique character.

  1. Very entertaining and insightful post. I appreciate most how his character prompted you to reflect on your own. People can and sometimes do have that effect on me as well. Your friend sounds like a handful – in a weird and fun kind of way. I’m sure you will have many more stories to tell as your friendship begins to grow. 🙂
    ~ Angela

Leave a Reply

