Daily Prompt: Mystery woman

Some experiences are magical and leave you asking for more. Here is my story.

It was of December 2012. I was in New Delhi at that point of time and had booked a morning flight for my hometown. When I got up that morning, I had a hunch that my flight would be delayed. And that hunch turned out to be true. Indira Gandhi International Airport was in a state of chaos. I managed to see that my flight was delayed until weather conditions improved.

Realizing that there was nothing I could do, I found myself a place to sit. I thought of giving my parents a call, but when I took out my cell phone, there was no charge. Since this was a short trip of about a week, and my home already had a PC, I did not carry my laptop. Also, there was no plug-in point nearby, where I could charge my cell phone. All I had with me was a crappy book, which I was forcing myself to read just because I don’t like leaving books mid-way.

Left with no other choice, I started with the book. About 5 mins later, I noticed that a girl had come and sat beside me. I pretended to concentrate on my book, but through the corner of my eye, I noticed that she was quite attractive. I also understood that I had become quite conscious of her presence, and tried my best to look at the book I was trying to read. Suddenly I heard her say, ” You’re reading that? You must have a lot of patience.” I looked at her, still putting my head around the fact that she actually talked with me. I smiled at her, and explained her why I was reading the book. She laughed and replied, “So you are book-worm like me.”

The next few hours were some of the most interesting conversation I had with anybody. She and I shared a lot of similar interests. The books and authors we liked( and disliked ), the type of music we enjoyed even our favourite movies. I told her that I was the lead singer in my college band, and now that I have learnt how to play the guitar, I do some solo acoustic performances. She told me she has been playing the piano since she was a kid, and has some self compositions too. I was really impressed, and I could tell that she was too.

Almost 5 hours had passed. To me time seemed to have flown away. Finally the intercom announced that our flights ( we were going to separate cities), would leave in an hour. We collected our boarding passes and went through the security check. Our flights would leave from separate gates, so I shook her hand and told her that I had a really good time. She reciprocated the thought. As I was moving towards my gate, somebody caught my hand. I looked back and saw her. Curious I asked her what had happened. She gave a soft kiss on my cheek and said, “Thank You for the best date I ever had. Good-bye and take care.”

As I boarded my flight, all I could think about was her. I cursed myself for not asking her phone number. When I got back home, I tried to look her up on social networking sites. But it was in vain. I realized that it was indeed “Good-bye”.

Two and a half years have passed since that day. I have never heard from her or about her again. But she has left an indelible mark in my life. She is the standard by which I have judged all my future dates, and I am yet to find a girl even close to the compatibility I had with her. I believe God had sent me an angel that day. And I thank Him for giving me this wonderful memory, a memory that brings a smile to my face, even during the worst of times.

This post was in response to:

Daily Prompt | Terminal Time

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mystery woman

  1. Pingback: Terminal Time For Days! | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

